top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureleehj38

One And Done!

Updated: Jul 17



It is the desire of any card collector to pull a nice hit. It is even more satsifying when a collector pulls one of the best hits in a product. I have been lucky enough to pull some monsters over the past year from ONE box of cards.


The first card is a Max Homa SP Game Used Authentic Rookies/99. At first glance I did not know who he was and I thought I got a major dud since he is 33 years old and in most sports for a rookie that is very old, Does not even exist really. Thankfully though, he is one of the top rookies this year on the PGA tour which I should have known since the card is numbered out of 99 and one of the short print rookies in the product. OOPS! I pulled this card a couple of months ago.


The reason why I tried a box of SP Game Used golf was because the price was decent at around $200 a box and I am a fan of golf cards since the cards are clean and the swatches always look nice. That and I have always had crazy luck with busting golf boxes with a couple of nice Tiger Woods pulls as well as an Annika Sorenstam auto out of 5 that I traded for a bunch of I.K Kim stuff back in the day.


Now onto the super good stuff. My buddy Tim introduced me to Wolverine Ultra breaks on WhatNot a couple of weeks ago and I fell in love with how good these cards looked. In the past I bought a couple of boxes of Marvel Metal Universe and was lucky enough to pull a Precious Metal Gems of Nimrod out of 10! The artwork on all the cards released by Upper Deck Marvel products is absolutely stunning and that is what got me interested in the Wolverine product and I was going to get myself a box as a birthday gift.




A Wolverine box here was a little pricey at around $300 a box, but it was something I wanted to try. One box could not hurt right? Before I display what I got from my box, I will explain my process once again in how I open the packs when I purchase a box. This is an exact science and must be done in a specific way or else all the luck will go down the toilet.


First off, before you open the box, spin the box 10 times. It does not matter if it is counter clockwise or clockwise, just make sure the box is flat on the bottom and spin away! Then split the packs into equal stacks in this fashion. Each stack can be be a maximum of 8 packs but no less than 6 packs. BUT if a box if less than 6 packs, then stack the packs in 3, 2 or 1. Damn you SPX Hockey!!! So a 24 pack box would either have 3 stacks of 8 or 6 stacks of 4 and no less than that. My Wolverine box had 12 packs in it so I made two stacks of 6. I think I explained that right.


Without further adieu here is my pull from my single box of Wolverine Ultra!!


I also streamed my break live on Instagram and that makes a difference for me too. Unfortunately no one was there to watch my break, but I was in awe after I pulled this card nonetheless. At first I did not even realize what this card was and then I turned the card over and saw that it was a one of one! No near death experience this time around, but I kept saying how in shock I was at this pull because it literally came out of nowhere!!!


I know that Mr. Sinister is one of the more popular villains in the Marvel universe as well. Not quite at the level of Magneto and Thanos, but definitely a tier lower. The black of the card looks so nice with the dark of his cape and Sinister's aura and character is all about being this cold and dark individual so that matches perfectly as well!


As fabulous as my Mr. Sinister pull was my best one and done pull was from my box of SP Authentic Golf a couple of years ago. The infamous break that nearly killed me, but unfortunately I forgot to record the stream.

The biggest pull of my life at the time of a product's release(Mahomes Prizm Rookie auto/75 is my biggest money card currently) and something I will never forget. I am just glad that I was able to share it with a couple of friends of mine because they definitely made the event more worthwhile!


Other cards I was able to pull from one box of a product are a Luka Doncic Revolution Rookie Auto as well as a Mike Trout auto out of 25 from Bowman's Best. As good as these pulls were I am still fully aware that buying wax is an extreme gamble and that currently I am riding a major high. Good luck on your future breaks and try my kookamunga method. It works!!!


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page