top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureleehj38

Intro To Genshin


image via eurogamer.net

Almost two years ago I started playing Genshin Impact and since then I have been playing the game religiously almost everyday. The reason why I love this game so much is the variety that it posesses. There are numerous ways to play the game and it is very easy to find a method that suits even the most casual player.


During the first year or so of playing this game I would play this game for an average of 5 hours everyday. That is how much there was to do in this game. From building your characters by running the various domains, to hunting down occulis and chests, the options of things to do in this game are seemingly endless early game.. The quests and hangouts also take a large amount of time, but contrary to popular belief most of them are deep and the main source of primogems in the game which is why I complete them as soon as I can upon their release. As a matter of fact, one of my major bones to pick with this game as well as Star Rail which I will talk about in upcoming blog posts, is how much my fellow players neglect quests and hangouts. They would wait weeks and months to complete them, if they complete them at all. It does not make sense to me how anyone devoted to this game would leave all those primogems to waste because they claim things such as being burnt out and lazy. The quests do not take that long if you are committed to do them and even so, they take next to no effort to complete. A lot of clicking and pointing and that's about it!


Social Media Influence


Like all things in life, social media plays a big role in how I play this game. For over a year I have been wathching streamers on Twitch and even though most of them do not play the game with the same passion as I do, they are still chill to watch and vibe with. These streamers also have their own communities on Discord and I am also active on here everyday. Once again, even though most of the people here do not play the game the same way as I do, I enjoy the banter about this game and a host of other topics.


Pros


There is always something to do in this game. Even as a year two player and having done every single quest and hangout, I still have things to do in this game. I recently started building my Teapot and this has kept me occupied for the past month or so. The thing with working with the Teapot is that it does not take very long to make it look nice and receive the primos for adding furniture sets and companions.

I build my Teapot at the end of my Genshin day and it takes no more than thirty minutes of my time depending on if I have to farm for materials or not. It is is also very simple to do. Purchase the furniture sets in the Realm Depot and then create the required furnishings and that is really all there is to it! Doing this offers 20 primogems per new companion you add to each set, so it really is a no brainer for any dedicated Genshin player to complete.


A lot of people play this game. Millions around the world play this game everyday so it is very easy to find people to play and discuss the game with. The age ranges of people that play this game is also extremely diverse so it does not matter how old or young you are, chances are you will find someone to interact with to your liking.


image via devinart.com

Pretty to Look At


From the scenery to the characters and everything else in between this game is beautiful in every possible way. The viewpoint markers throughout the game highlight some of the more stunning images in the game and they are breathtaking to look at. There is also an entire waifu and husbando culture associated with the characters in the and even though personally I believe too many people take this over board, to each their own right?


image via pocketactics.com

Cons


In terms of gameplay my biggest beef with this game is that some of the mechanics during quests and hangouts is extremely repetitive. This makes the game difficult to play at times since we are doing the same thing over and over again for no apparent reason. I personally can not stand this about the game since a lot of these parts of the game are long enough as they are, and adding repetition pretty much ruins them. Hoyoverse has gotten better with this recently, but their latest Lynette hangout was troublesome and a couple of the newer Archon quests were a pain to complete. Another major problem for me with this game is how players flex their characters. This happens mostly in account reviews on Twitch and it is a complete waste of time for me. My take is that these people already know how amazing their characters are and they are only showcasing them to show off to the rest of the community. Period. This flexing also happens with artifacts which I understand to some point since the artifact grind is real, but again it is a complete waste of time. It is also always the same few number of people that do this flexing. There is so much more to the game than the characters and what makes them good, and to focus so much time on them is just a no thanks for me.


I believe account reviews on Twitch should be limited to new players that do not know what a decent character build or artifact set is and all the flexing that takes place should be resorted to Discord, their own personal friend group or somewhere else where they are not wasting the time of the rest of the audience. The constant drama involved with Hoyo games is another sensitive talking point. Most of this drama centers around greedy people that want more things in Genshin and Star Rail and quite frankly it is childish behavior. I am satisfied with the rewards I get in Genshin and over the world at how generous Star Rail is. Sure, I wish Genshin would offer more primogems for quests, chests and everything else, but at the end of the day it is a game and I am content. The final thing I have issues with is how much time streamers spend on The Abyss. It is one game mode on Genshin and to spend hours and hours on doing your own and those of others for a maximum of 600 primogems is counter productive in my opinion. I would much rather spend that time doing a quest or hangout which offers a similar amount of rewards plus gives me a chance to learn about lore and explore the beauty of the game.


Finally The End


I love this game and my only wish is that Hoyo continues to push out content and keep creating stunning characters and events to keep me wanting to play more. Not everyone will agree with the way I enjoy the game and what I like and dislike about this game, but that is what makes this game different and amazing. There is not one way to play this game and players are free to play this game the way they want. Just do not get someone else to play this game for you. That grinds my gears!!!




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page