top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureleehj38

Facts or Foolishness?

Updated: Sep 18, 2023


image via sportsnet.ca

Wordpress continues to piss the hell out of me and it seems every couple of months I try to add a blog post, something stupid happens. Now I could not edit my post and I had to revert to this ugly looking theme, but I will try and get a better one working later. As it stands, I had to add a new post directly from my blog site and not through the administration section like I always used to do. Why? Beats the hell out of me! At this point in time I might start looking for a new blog site to publish my posts because this is really starting to become a major drag!!


Back to sports! A major chunk of the MLB off season has come and gone and only one major move has taken place. The Mets landing Lindor improves their team substantially, but I am glad the Jays did not land him. Bo deserves more of an opportunity to flourish at short and the infield is not a pressing need for the team. Bo along with Biggio, Tellez and Vlad are a solid core and that's what the Jays should stick with moving forward.

The outfield needs to be improved and it looks like the Mets are all in on Springer, but Ozuna and Michael Brantley are solid plan Bs. Jackie Bradley Jr. would also improve the team defence exponentially. My sticking point in the outfield is that Teoscar is not an MLB outfielder, Grichuck is not an everyday center fielder and everything else the team has are not major league players. That is what it comes down to and so far nothing has been done to address this issue.


Landing an everyday outfielder should be the number one priority of management. I used to believe that the starting pitching should be the biggest area of concern to build, but in a long season you can plug in pitchers from the minors and add an arm here and there to deal with whatever issues a team might have. With the outfield this is not as easy and the holes defensively are quite significant. Teoscar regressed defensively and even in a short season, he made several glaring mental mistakes that made me cringe. This is unfortunate because he had a breakout season offensively, but his defensive shortcomings can not be ignored and something needs to be done to remedy the team's defensive ineptitudes.

The Padres are the only team so far to make a major splash in the off season by revamping their starting rotation and acquiring Ha Seong Kim from the KBO. The Jays were linked to him and it would have been nice to see another Korean on the team, but again he is an infielder and in quite honesty I do not think he would have made the team that much better.

Rumors linked to the Jays have quieted over the last couple of weeks, but I expect the team to do something soon. I have no reason to lose faith in what the management has said so far, even though the promise of two major additions or four lesser additions is optimistic, something should be done to make this team better. I am spoiled living in Toronto and typically the teams here do everything they can to satisfy their fans and put a competitive team on the field.


The season is only a couple of months and even though hockey is only a day away from starting, I am excited to see what the Jays can do.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page